

EFA Annual General Meeting Minutes

13 November 2021

Meeting Opened 3.10pm AEDT

Meeting Procedure

Only members can vote on a motion or a poll. Others may attend as observers but may not vote.

Quorum declared by Chair.

For each voting item - proposed and seconder followed by a vote - questions not related to item in General Business at end.

Attendance

Present

Members

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Amy Patterson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith
- Paul Ruberry
- Nick Bannon
- Madeleine Roberts
- Peter Plumbohm
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Derek Whitehead
- Brenda Moon (from 3:47pm)
- Nicola Nye
- Barry Anderson

Non-members

- Wade Roberts
- Greg Adamson
- Lynn

Apologies

None

Acceptance of Minutes from Previous Meeting

Motion: That the meeting accept that the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 21 November 2020 be accepted as true and correct record of that meeting.

Proposed: Lyndsey Jackson

Seconded: Justin Warren

In favour:

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Rita McIlwraith
- Nick Bannon
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Derek Whitehead

Abstain:

- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith
- Peter Plumbohm
- Madeleine Roberts
- Amy Patterson
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Barry Anderson

Against: None

Motion carried.

Chair's Report

Lyndsey Jackson presented the chair's annual report to the meeting.

EFA paid tribute to Angus Murray, outgoing chair of the policy team, for his years of excellent service to the organisation. EFA is grateful for his excellent work and hopes to welcome him back to a more active role after a well-deserved rest.

The chair thanked the members, and confirmed that she will be stepping down as chair at the conclusion of the meeting.

Motion: That the meeting acknowledge the contribution that Lyndsey Jackson has made to EFA and thank her for her service as chair of EFA.

Proposed: Justin Warren

Seconded: Amy Patterson, Liam Pomfret

In favour:

- Amy Patterson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith
- Paul Ruberry
- Nick Bannon
- Madeleine Roberts
- Peter Plumbohm
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Derek Whitehead
- Barry Anderson

Abstain: Lyndsey Jackson

Against: None

Motion carried.

Motion: That the meeting accept the Chair's Report.

Proposed: Lyndsey Jackson

Seconded: Justin Warren

In favour:

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Amy Patterson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith

- Paul Ruberry
- Nick Bannon
- Madeleine Roberts
- Peter Plumbohm
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Derek Whitehead
- Barry Anderson

Abstain: None

Against: None

Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Motion: That the meeting accept the financial statements and auditor's report as a true and fair view of the financial position of the organisation.

Proposed: Justin Warren

Seconded: Alison Kershaw

In favour:

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Amy Patterson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith
- Paul Ruberry
- Nick Bannon
- Madeleine Roberts
- Peter Plumbohm
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Derek Whitehead
- Barry Anderson

Abstain: None

Against: None

Motion carried.

Appointment of Auditor

The meeting discussed the merits of changing auditors. It was generally agreed that it would be good practice to change auditor after next year, but that the existing auditor be retained for the FY2021-2022 financial year. This would provide the board sufficient time to investigate alternate auditors and obtain quotes that could be presented to the members for their review and approval.

Motion: That the Board will cause an audit of the FY2021-22 financial accounts of the organisation to occur, and that the auditor be William Buck, the same auditor as for this year's accounts.

Proposed: Justin Warren

Seconded: Paul Ruberry

In favour:

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Amy Patterson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith
- Paul Ruberry
- Nick Bannon
- Madeleine Roberts
- Peter Plumbohm
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Derek Whitehead
- Brenda Moon
- Barry Anderson

Abstain:

None

Against: None

Motion carried.

Motion: That the Board present costed options for the selection of a new auditor to the members at the 2022 AGM.

Proposed: Barry Anderson

Seconded: Justin Warren

In favour:

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Amy Patterson
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker
- Matthew Watt
- Justin Warren
- Angus Murray
- Rita McIlwraith
- Paul Ruberry
- Nick Bannon
- Madeleine Roberts
- Peter Plumbohm
- Liam Pomfret
- Jenny Ng
- Alison Kershaw
- Grant Orchard
- Derek Whitehead
- Brenda Moon
- Barry Anderson

Abstain:

None

Against:

Nick Bannon

Election of Board Members

The meeting thanked all outgoing board members for their service to the organisation.

The following board members were not up for election and will be continuing to serve on the board:

- Lyndsey Jackson
- Rita McIlwraith
- Justin Warren
- Matt Watt
- Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker

As fewer nominations were received than there were open positions, no election was held.

The following candidates were elected to the Board:

- Vanessa Teague
- Grant Orchard
- Amy Patterson
- Madeleine Roberts

The meeting congratulated the successful candidates and welcomed them to the board of EFA.

Nominations from the floor

In accordance with Rule 10.8, as board positions remain vacant after the election of the above members, the chair called for nominations from the floor of the meeting.

Paul Ruberry was nominated, and as there were no other nominations, Paul Ruberry was duly elected to serve on the board.

General Business (1:28)

It may be useful to have a register of members' skills, much like the board skill's register.

Greg Adamson suggested having a register of member contact networks, to facilitate introductions and bringing people together, as a complement to the skills register.

There was a general desire to collaborate more extensively with other organisations.

Meeting Closed 4.25pm AEDT