Electronic Frontiers Australia, the country’s leading digital rights organisation, is proud to announce that its Board has elected its first female leadership team.

Lyndsey Jackson was elected unopposed as the new Chair of EFA at a Board meeting held on Sunday 15th October. Katherine Phelps was elected as the new vice-Chair.

Lachlan Simpson was also elected as Secretary and Shaun Haddrill continues in the Treasurer’s position to which he was appointed in July 2017.

Ms Jackson said, “It is an honour, and it marks a significant point in the history of EFA to be the first woman to be elected to this role. To be supported in this role by new Vice-Chair Katherine Phelps is particularly gratifying, as we are both passionate about encouraging and supporting women to take on leadership roles in civil society.

“I look forward to working with the board and the EFA membership to ensure that EFA remains a champion of digital rights in our communities, both here in Australia and throughout the world.

“I would also like to note the significant contribution over many years of our outgoing Chair David Cake, as well as our other outgoing Board members and look forward to their continuing contribution to the organisation in a variety of contexts.”


Comments are closed.