Thursday 15th May, 18:30 AEST

Niva Elkin-KorenIsrael adopted a new copyright law in 2007, which included a shift from a British-style 'fair dealing' framework to an American-style 'fair use framework.

The Australian government is currently considering its response to the Australian Law Reform Commission's recent report, which recommends that Australian copyright law be shifted in the same manner.

We're therefore delighted that Professor Niva Elkin-Koren is able to join us to share the benefit of Israel's experience, particularly as she was due to speak on this subject at the Australian Digital Alliance's copyright forum in Canberra in February, but was unfortunately unable to attend.

Niva is the founding director of the Haifa Center for Law & Technology (HCLT) and the former dean of the University of Haifa Faculty of Law. Her research focuses on the legal institutions that facilitate private and public control over the production and dissemination of information. She is currently focusing on studying the legal challenges arising from crowd management, exploring the changing nature of online intermediaries, and developing a comprehensive approach to user rights under copyright law. She is a co-founder of the Alliance of Israeli Institutions of Higher Education for Promoting Access to Scientific Materials which drafted a Code of Fair Use Best Practices for academic institutions in Israel.

Please note that Professor Elkin-Koren is participating in this event in her personal capacity, and not as a representative of any institution.


Join us for this live Speak Out, via YOUTUBE or GOOGLE+ at:
6:30pm AEST (NSW, VIC, QLD, TAS)
6.00pm ACST (SA), NT)
4.30pm AWST (WA)

Use the #efaspeakout hashtag to send in your questions, or email us at: [email protected]

If you can't attend live, you can watch this and all the other Speak Outs at any time on our Youtube channel.

Comments are closed.